Indian Premier League (IPL) is a Twenty20 cricket tournament where different franchise teams participate for the title. The tournament started in 2008 and from then it usually takes place every year in the months of April – June. It is currently supervised by BCCI Vice-President Ranjib Biswal, who serves as the League’s Chairman and Commissioner. Sundar Raman has been the IPL Chief Operating Officer (COO) since its first season, after he was appointed by former IPL Commissioner Lalit Modi in 2008.[2]

IPL is the most-watched Twenty20 cricket league in the world and also known for its commercial success. During the sixth IPL season (2013) its brand value was estimated to be around US$3.03 billion.[3][4] Live rights to the event are syndicated around the globe, and in 2010, the IPL became the first sporting event to be broadcast live on YouTube.[5] It is currently sponsored by Pepsi and thus officially known as the Pepsi Indian Premier League.[6]

Of the 11 clubs to have competed since the inception of the Premier League in 2008, five have won the title: Chennai Super Kings(2), Rajasthan Royals (1), Deccan Chargers (1), Kolkata Knight Riders (1) and Mumbai Indians (1). The current champions are Mumbai Indians, who won the title in the 2013 season. Currently there are eight teams.



Teams’ performances

Team 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014
Chennai Super Kings R 4th W W R R TBD
Deccan Chargers 8th W 4th 7th 8th DNP DNP
Delhi Daredevils 4th 3rd 5th 10th 3rd 9th TBD
Kings XI Punjab 3rd 5th 8th 5th 6th 6th TBD
Kolkata Knight Riders 6th 8th 6th 4th W 7th TBD
Kochi Tuskers Kerala DNP DNP DNP 8th DNP DNP DNP
Mumbai Indians 5th 7th R 3rd 4th W TBD
Pune Warriors India DNP DNP DNP 9th 9th 8th DNP
Rajasthan Royals W 6th 7th 6th 7th 3rd TBD
Royal Challengers Bangalore 7th R 3rd R 5th 5th TBD
Sunrisers Hyderabad DNP DNP DNP DNP DNP 4th TBD


  • W = Winner; R = Runner-up;      = Semifinalist; DNP = Did Not Play; TBD = To be Decided

Titles and Performance

Team Span Titles Best Performance
Chennai Super Kings 2008-2014 2 Champions (20102011)
Mumbai Indians 2008–2014 1 Champions (2013)
Kolkata Knight Riders 2008-2014 1 Champions (2012)
Rajasthan Royals 2008–2014 1 Champions (2008)
Royal Challengers Bangalore 2008–2014 0 Runner – Up (20092011)
Delhi Daredevils 2008–2014 0 Semi-finals (2009)
Kings XI Punjab 2008–2014 0 Semi-finals (2008)
Sunrisers Hyderabad 2013-2014 0 Playoffs Eliminator(2013)
Deccan Chargers 2008–2012 1 Champions (2009)
Pune Warriors India 2011–2013 0 8th Place (2013)
Kochi Tuskers Kerala 2011-2011 0 8th Place (2011)
  •      = Defunct Teams (no longer exists or play twenty20)


Tournament summary

Season Champions Runners-up Semi-finalists No. of teams
2008 Rajasthan Royals Chennai Super Kings Kings XI Punjab Delhi Daredevils 8
2009 Deccan Chargers Royal Challengers Bangalore Delhi Daredevils Chennai Super Kings 8
2010 Chennai Super Kings Mumbai Indians Royal Challengers Bangalore Deccan Chargers 8
2011 Chennai Super Kings Royal Challengers Bangalore Mumbai Indians Kolkata Knight Riders 10
2012 Kolkata Knight Riders Chennai Super Kings Delhi Daredevils Mumbai Indians 9
2013 Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings Rajasthan Royals Sunrisers Hyderabad 9
2014         8



Prize money

Season 7 of Indian Premier League (IPL 2014) will offer a total prize money of Rs. 18 crore. The winning team of IPL gets prize money of Rs. 13 crores.

  • Champions: ₹10 crores
  • Runner-up: ₹8 crores
  • Third place: ₹5 crores
  • Fourth place: ₹4 crores
  • No prize money for remaining teams

It must be noted that IPL rules mandate that half of the prize money must be distributed among the players.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s